Sign In Forgot Password

new board Nominations 2022-2023

The following members are nominated to serve on next year’s Board of Directors for the first time or in a new capacity.

They represent a cross-section of our community, and their collective commitment to Bet Torah is exemplary. Please join us in supporting their nominations.

President: David Simonds
Current Executive Vice President and past Human Resources Chair, VP Development, Communications Secretary, Co-Chair Cantor Search Committee.

Executive Vice President: Jill Ratner
Current Social Action Chair, Sisterhood Membership Co-Chair, Sacred Grandparenting Initiative Co-Organizer, Medical Advisory and Interfaith Committees. Past BoE member and Shalach Manot Co-Chair.

Board of Education Chair: Ellen Vellensky
Current member Board of Education, Sisterhood and Caring Committee member, past Board of Directors Nursery School Chair, Nursery School Board member, Gala committee helper.

Event Fundraising Co-Chair: Rebecca Gordon
Current Torah reader, Gabbai and participant in learning groups, HHD tent service leader and past Board Ombudsman, Youth Commissioner and creator of Club 45 youth program.

Event Fundraising Co-Chair: Shira Bush
Current member Gala Committee, Decor Subcommittee Chair. Current member Board of Education, and Caring Committee helper.

Men’s Club Co-President: TBA

Nominating Chair: Amy Horowitz
Current President, past Board of Education Chair, Recording Secretary, Chair Executive Director Search Committee, Nursery School Budget Chair.

Social Action Chair: TBA

Youth Engagement Chair: Corrie Jacobs
Current BoE Chair, HHD tent service leader, past Nursery School Board member, Sisterhood Liaison to BoE, LLL Search Committee, participant in multiple learning groups. Co-creator Kulanu promotional video.

Of Note: Two Director Roles to Be Eliminated

Message Editor: Changes in the way we communicate have led to new ways of thinking about our monthly Message newsletter, edited for nearly three decades by Pam Rosman. Enormous credit goes to Pam for publishing without fail and providing information about synagogue life for more than 25 years. The Message will continue to be published under the umbrella of our Communications Committee.

The Data Management role will be eliminated because the bulk of work required has been completed. The remaining work will be done with the help of a committee under Recording Secretary Tanya Charney. We thank Larry Rose for his important work, which has allowed Bet Torah to become more efficient and continue to improve the way we keep in touch with our congregants.

Men’s Club

Men’s Club current and immediate past presidents are working to re-envision this important organization. It is dedicated to helping the congregation’s men of all ages and backgrounds develop meaningful relationships through social engagement, community service, and synagogue events. We have assembled a strong group of dedicated volunteers to oversee all of Men’s Club traditional activities. In addition, Scott Hirshson will continue as president for an additional year, and in the coming months we will identify a co-president for a two-year term.

Israel Connection

Our Israel Affairs Committee, under the continued leadership of Renana Shvil and Phyllis Stone, will have a new name and a re-invigorated mission. While this committee will continue to partner with others to support Israel-themed films, books and speakers, the new effort will be to help congregants connect to the energy of Israel. Think: Start Up Nation, Israel’s food scene, Tzahal Shalom, and our new Kulanu Pen Pal program.

With Thanks

We look forward to properly thanking the Board members who are stepping down from their current positions at the end of this fiscal year: Tara Bernzweig, Jody Klayman, Andy Lupatkin, Larry Rose, Pam Rosman, and Carol Siege. Additionally, Men’s Club Co-President Josh Winograd will complete his term.

Huge thanks to the Nominating Committee for their thoughtful consideration and willingness to be involved: Phil Green, Emma Hest, Michael Hiller, Lisa Kassin, Mike Liebowitz, Debra Rose, Jamie Rosenfeld, Jessica Rosh, Bruce Weinreb, and Will Yahr.

Full Nominated Slate

The following Officers are nominated for a term of one (1) year:

  • President – David Simonds
  • Executive Vice President – Jill Ratner
  • Vice President, Ritual – Diana Binger
  • Vice President, Development – Neil Klar
  • Vice President, Lifelong Learning – Abby Siegel
  • Treasurer – Adam Kupperman
  • Communications Secretary – David Kellogg
  • Financial Secretary – Sheri Hametz
  • Recording Secretary – Tanya Charney

The following Directors are nominated to serve for two (2) years starting July 1, 2022:

  • Annual Fund Chair – Joanna Segal
  • Board of Education Chair – Ellen Vellensky
  • Event Fundraising Co-Chairs – Shira Bush & Rebecca Gordon
  • Human Resources Chair – Don Fried-Tanzer
  • Israel Connection Co-Chairs – Phyllis Stone & Renana Shvil
  • Legal Chair – Daniel Petigrow
  • Long Range Strategic Analysis Chair – Jodi Kravitz
  • Membership Chair – Caroline Lisker
  • Nominating Chair – Amy Horowitz
  • Security Chair – Sam Hest
  • Social Action Chair – Elisabeth Schonfeld
  • Technology Chair – Scott Binger
  • Youth Engagement Chair – Corrie Jacobs

The following Directors have one (1) year remaining on their terms and are not up for re-election at this time:

  • Cultural Arts Chair – Jamie Rosenfield
  • House Chair – Richard Sweig
  • Marketing Chair – Natasha Hanan
  • Nursery School Chair – Shirley Goldman
  • Young Family Engagement Chair – Robyn Frank

The following are Men’s Club and Sisterhood Presidents, who, together with Past Presidents, will serve on the Board for the term beginning July 1, 2022:

  • Men’s Club Co-Presidents – Scott Hirshson & Co-President TBA
  • Sisterhood Co-Presidents – Carol Haber-Cohen & Mindy Krueger

Please note: Bet Torah’s By-Laws (Article XIII, Section B) provide that independent nominations for any vacancy may be made provided that: (1) They are filed with the current Communications Secretary at least 12 days prior to the Annual Meeting, and (2) Such nominations are in writing, signed by at least 50 members in good standing, and contain the written consent of the nominee or nominees.


Tue, February 7 2023 16 Shevat 5783