Sign In Forgot Password

Matan: Essentials of Judaism for Adults

Upcoming Sessions

1. Sunday, March 10, 2024 30 Adar I 5784

9:45 AM - 11:15 AMBet Torah

2. Sunday, March 17, 2024 7 Adar II 5784

9:45 AM - 11:15 AMBet Torah

3. Sunday, April 14, 2024 6 Nisan 5784

9:45 AM - 11:15 AMBet Torah

4. Sunday, April 21, 2024 13 Nisan 5784

9:45 AM - 11:15 AMBet Torah

5. Sunday, April 28, 2024 20 Nisan 5784

9:45 AM - 11:15 AMBet Torah

6. Sunday, May 12, 2024 4 Iyyar 5784

9:45 AM - 11:15 AMBet Torah

7. Sunday, May 19, 2024 11 Iyyar 5784

9:45 AM - 11:15 AMBet Torah
Past Sessions
Sunday, March 3, 2024 23 Adar I 5784 - 9:45 AM - 11:15 AM - Bet Torah
Sunday, February 11, 2024 2 Adar I 5784 - 9:45 AM - 11:15 AM - Bet Torah
Sunday, February 4, 2024 25 Shevat 5784 - 9:45 AM - 11:15 AM - Bet Torah
Sunday, January 28, 2024 18 Shevat 5784 - 9:45 AM - 11:45 AM - Bet Torah
Sunday, January 21, 2024 11 Shevat 5784 - 9:45 AM - 11:15 AM - Bet Torah
Sunday, January 7, 2024 26 Tevet 5784 - 9:45 AM - 11:15 AM - Bet Torah
Sunday, December 17, 2023 5 Tevet 5784 - 9:45 AM - 11:15 AM - Bet Torah
Sunday, December 10, 2023 27 Kislev 5784 - 9:45 AM - 11:15 AM - Bet Torah
Sunday, November 26, 2023 13 Kislev 5784 - 9:45 AM - 11:15 AM - Bet Torah
Sunday, November 19, 2023 6 Kislev 5784 - 9:45 AM - 11:15 AM - Bet Torah
Sunday, November 12, 2023 28 Cheshvan 5784 - 9:45 AM - 11:15 AM - Bet Torah
Sunday, November 5, 2023 21 Cheshvan 5784 - 9:45 AM - 11:15 AM - Bet Torah
Sunday, October 29, 2023 14 Cheshvan 5784 - 9:45 AM - 11:15 AM - Bet Torah

Matan: Essentials of Judaism for Adults

Our comprehensive Essentials of Judaism class is taught by Rabbi Brusso and Rabbi Sacks. Begins again in October 2023.

One of the foundations of Jewish tradition is a lifelong engagement in study. Regardless of your background – whether you studied as a child or not, whether you had a Bar or Bat Mitzvah or not – the opportunity to advance in Jewish learning is for you!

Matan will bring together adults from the Bet Torah community in a multi-faceted course of learning, exploration and synagogue skill-building, which will culminate at Shavuot services in June, 2024 when we celebrate your journey with the broader Bet Torah community. Topics will include:

  • Prayer and liturgy
  • Hebrew bible and rabbinic literature
  • History and theology
  • Lifecyle and holidays
  • Jewish law and practical living
  • Contemporary issues including Israel and the variety within the Jewish world

By the end of the program students will:

  • Enhance their experience of and comfort with Jewish life
  • Be exposed to the many elements of Jewish heritage and tradition on a level appropriate for adults
  • Feel confident in pursuing further studies both within the Bet Torah community and in the wider Jewish world

The teaching schedule will rotate between Rabbis Brusso and Sacks. Not ready to commit to the whole thing? Come to the first three Sundays and see if this is right for you. 

Contact Rabbi Lisa Sacks at rabbisacks@bettorah.org for more information.

Sorry, Registration has ended.

Share Print Save To My Calendar
Mon, March 4 2024 24 Adar I 5784